Therapy.

6 Sep

I guess I’m a pretty lucky and stereotypical 20-something year old woman. I’m surrounded by good friends, my family’s dysfunctional but works somehow, got a decent job, healths not in terrible shape, swanky car, roof over my head, always well fed etc. Overall, monetary wise, I’m just not that rich. But lifestyle wise – I’m rolling in it.

IMG_0406.PNG

Despite all of my personal riches and wonderful things that I have on my side, life just gets me down some times. I can’t help it, I’m crippled by being inherently human. There’s days when work is such an intensive struggle that I don’t know how I’ll physically get through the day, times when my whole family are driving me up the wall and I just want to hide from every person and occasions when I dream of not living in my home town so I can start a new life for myself. Everyone gets days like this, everyone has a phase where it seems to be one terrible day to another. Generally the good days outweigh the bad and deep down I always know there’s something good coming – positive thinking and all that shit. But when it’s all that bit too much how do you keep yourself sane?

Drink wine.
A decent bottle of wine waiting at home is a must for days like this. There’s been many a tough shift at work where the only thing that gets me to the end of the day is the thought of getting home & pouring a large glass of wine for myself.

Nap.
Ever have far too much to do and not enough hours in the day? Now and again it’s best to just completely ignore your task list, get comfy, rest your head and catch some seriously needed z’s. Your productivity rate will increase following your nap of super powers.

Suss who’s best for which rant.
It’s all well and good off-loading your problems on to someone else, but make sure you speak to the right person. If it’s guy problems I’m about 150% sure my dad’s not the person to go too – if it’s work related, he’s the man. If it’s sex related, then my girl friends shall be called upon – the look of discomfort on my male friends faces isn’t one to easily forget.

Have an emergency packet of cigarettes stashed somewhere.
This is terrible advice & could literally kill you, it’s just how I stay calm. I’m an ex-smoker but always said if I feel the need to smoke then I will. The freedom to light up if I absolutely cannot handle not smoking is such a soothing feeling. And usually it’s been so long since I’ve smoked that a few drags makes me light headed and I’m done then anyway.

Eat.
It’s an unspoken law that if I’m nursing a Pizza Hut box then I’ve had the day from hell. It is known that I’m not to be approached, do not ask me about it, and don’t even think about asking if you can have a piece. Lives have been lost by people asking if I’m okay or asking to have a slice of my greasy pizza goodness.

Netflix binge.
90’s movies and Buffy the vampire slayer are medically approved stress relievers. Just ask legendary Dr.Net Flicks, he wrote some huge, important medical journals about their well known healing powers. Okay I made that last bit up.

Sex.
When my heart is racing, my emotions all over the place, my blood boiling and my body quaking, the best thing to release all that pent up tension is a good old fashioned fuck.

Exercise.
When the above tragically isn’t an option, hitting the treadmill with my most aggressive music and sprinting the hardest and fastest that I can has be known to do the trick. Though I’m sure it’s not rocket science which I’d prefer.

So when you’re having a lousy day and you’re at your wits end, what’s your therapy?

IMG_0408.PNG

Leave a comment