Winter is on it’s way!

7 Oct

At about this time every year I make a post similar to this one – winter is on it’s way to us Brits and I’m very excited about it. Temperatures have rapidly dropped whilst we have cold rays of sunshine beating down on us, scarves have gradually climbed back out of the closet and hot drinks are being permanently pumped into people via a medical drip.

I seem to always get depressed during winter, I majorly suffer from Seasonally Affected Disorder, so the lack of Vitamin D makes for a cranky girl, but still – my soul is happiest in the winter. I love it when I’m driving home from work at my usual time and notice that actually; it’s getting dark already so lights need to go on, when the leaves have fallen from the trees and turned a autumnal orange colour and especially when hot chocolate in bed becomes a nightly routine. Hot baths are a must for cold and creaky bones, which is a known soul soother, snuggly coats are constantly adorned upon frozen bodies and wooly hats are an absolute must to keep your head toasty.

Winter is so incredibly beautiful. Not only is it my favourite season for fashion (mostly due to my epic boots from Aldo which I want to marry), but it’s so pretty in the mornings – when the sun starts to rise and turns the sky a icy pink and grass has a white tinge from frost, it’s impossible to keep a smile off of my rosy cheeked face. The feeling of crawling into my cosy bed after a hard days works when I’m tired, sore and cold is unbeatable. Fireworks will be scattered across the sky like artwork as everyone prepares for firework night and soon enough, dainty fairy lights will be sprinkled across buildings to get ready for Christmas.

So despite the rain which will beat upon the office windows and ignoring the continual loop of colds and coughs – I absolutely love winter and love that it’s fast approaching. My thermals, boots, hats, scarves and coats shall be ready to greet my favourite season, like welcoming back an old friend. So tell me, what’s your favourite season and why? I’d love to know!

IMG_0424.JPG

Leave a comment